INDIA bloc Lok Sabha

INDIA Bloc Leaders To Enter LS Together As Mark Of Unity

INDIA bloc Lok Sabha

In a show of strength and unity, all MPs from the Opposition INDIA bloc are expected to enter the Lok Sabha together on the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha, which will begin on Monday, sources said.

According to sources, the opposition leaders will assemble where the statue of Mahatma Gandhi was placed earlier. They are also likely to carry a copy of the Constitution with them.

The Congress MPs will also gather at the Congress Parliamentary Party (CPP) office in Parliament House this morning.

The first session of the 18th Lok Sabha, which will begin today, will witness the oath-taking ceremony of newly-elected Members of Parliament, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

A “Swagatam” cutout has also been placed at the Parliament Makar Dwar to welcome the newly elected MPs.

The first session is expected to be stormy with the opposition likely to corner the BJP-led NDA government on the election of the Speaker, discussions regarding allegations of paper leaks in NEET-UG and UGC-NET, and row over the appointment of the pro-tem Speaker.

President Droupadi Murmu will administer the oath to Bharatiya Janata Party lawmaker Bhartruhari Mahtab as the pro-tem Speaker of the Lok Sabha. Mahtab will then call upon Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Leader of the Lok Sabha, to take oath as member of the House.

On June 26, the Lok Sabha Speaker will be elected. On June 27, President Murmu is scheduled to address the joint sitting of both houses of Parliament.

This is the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha post the general elections, which saw the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) securing 293 seats and the INDIA bloc wining 234 with the Congress holding 99 of them.

BJP MP Bhartruhari Mahtab, who has been appointed as the pro-tem Speaker, will administer the oath to newly elected members and oversee the proceedings of the House.

The first session of the 18th Lok Sabha will be held from June 24 and conclude on July 3 for oath/affirmation of newly elected Members. The 264th Session of Rajya Sabha will also commence on June 27 and conclude on July 3.

Meanwhile, the newly elected Congress MPs meeting is called at 10 am at the CPP office in Parliament today.

Moreover, the Samajwadi Party Parliamentary meeting chaired by party ‘s national president Akhilesh Yadav will also be held today in the national capital.

The last session of the 17th Lok Sabha (Budget session) was held between January 31 and February 10, this year. (ANI)

For more details visit us:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are essential in order to enable you to move around the website and use its features. Without these cookies basic services cannot be provided.

Cookie generated by applications based on the PHP language. This is a general purpose identifier used to maintain user session variables. It is normally a random generated number, how it is used can be specific to the site, but a good example is maintaining a logged-in status for a user between pages.

Used on sites built with Wordpress. Tests whether or not the browser has cookies enabled
  • wordpress_test_cookie

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x