Narendra Modi Takes Oath As 15th PM

Capping a landslide victory in the Lok Sabha elections, Narendra Modi, along with his Councils of Minister, on Thursday took oath as the 15th Prime Minister of India in the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The 68-year-old stalwart took oath as the Prime Minister for the second consecutive term.

Top leaders and guests were invited from around the world and across the nation to attend Modi’s swearing-in ceremony.

President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath of office and secrecy at the function which was attended by Heads of government and representatives from BIMSTEC countries, besides Prime Minister of Mauritius and President of Kyrgyzstan.

BJP President Amit Shah was also sworn in as a cabinet minister in the new government. Shah was the third in line, after Modi and Rajnath Singh, to take the oath, administered by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Portfolios of the new council of ministers are yet to be announced.

Speculation over Shah getting a cabinet berth was rife ever since the resounding victory of the BJP and its allies in the Lok Sabha elections. From a party worker to a cabinet minister, Shah has had a meteoric rise in the BJP.

Born in Mumbai in 1964, he was brought up at his paternal village in Maansa, Gujarat till the age of 16.

Several overseas friends of the party from 15 countries, including the US, Australia, Germany, and the UK, were also invited.

Riding high on the planks of muscular nationalism and anti-Congressism, BJP, which had won 282 seats in 2014, improved its tally by notching up 303 seats. Along with its NDA allies, the number swelled to 353 in the 543-member Lower House of the Parliament.

Leave a Reply

Notify of