Gujarat Polls

Gujarat Polls: 19.13% Voter Turnout Till 11 am

Gujarat Polls

Gujarat in its first phase of polling on Thursday recorded around 19.13 percent voter turnout till 11 am.

The polling was brisk to moderate in different places in the state.
As per the Election Commission of India (ECI), Tapi recorded the highest voter turnout at 26.47 percent while Devbhumi Dwaraka recorded the lowest voter turnout at 15.86 percent.

The voter turnout in Amreli was 19 percent, Bharuch recorded 17.57 percent, Bhavnagar was 18.84 percent, Botad at 18.50 percent, Dangs at 24.99 percent, Gir Somnath at 20.75 percent, Jamnagar was at 17.85 percent, Junagadh at 18.85 percent, Kachchh was at 17.62 percent and Morbi at 22.27 percent.

Meanwhile, the voter turnout at Narmada was 23.73 percent, Navsari was at 21.79 percent, Porbandar was at 16.49 percent, Rajkot was at 18.98 percent, Surat was at 17.92 percent, Surendranagar was at 20.67 percent and Valsad was at 19.57 percent.

The polling is underway in 89 constituencies spread across 19 districts of Kutch, Saurashtra, and South Gujarat.

A total of 2,39,76,670 voters who will cast their votes by 5 pm today will decide the fate of 788 candidates who are in the fray for the first phase.

Out of the total number of electorates, 1,24,33,362 are males, 1,1,5,42,811 females and 497 are from the third gender. Over 4 lakh PWD voters are eligible to cast their votes. Nearly 9.8 lakh senior citizen voters (80+) and nearly 10,000 voters who are 100 and above are eligible to vote.

According to the EC, there are 5,74,560 voters who are between 18 to 19 years of age while 4,945 voters are above 99 years of age. There are 163 NRI voters, of which 125 are men and 38 are women.

There are 14,382 voting centres, out of which 3,311 are in the urban areas and 11,071 in the rural areas.

Among prominent candidates, Gujarat Chief Minster Bhupendra Patel is contesting from Ghatlodia, AAP Chief Ministerial candidate Isudan Gadhvi from Khambhaliya, former Congress leader and BJP candidate Hardik Patel from Viramgam, former Congress leader and now BJP candidate Alpesh Thakor from Gandhinagar South.

AAP state president Gopal Italia is contesting from Katargam constituency, Gujarat Home Minister Harsh Sanghavi from Majura, Rivaba Jadeja from Jamnagar North, former Gujarat minister Parshottam Solanki from Bhavnagar Rural, Kunwarji Bavaliya from Jasdan, Kantilal Amrutiya from Morbi and Jayesh Radadiya from Jetpur.

The counting of votes will be done on December 8. Results of the Himachal Pradesh Assembly election will also be declared on the same day. (ANI)

Read More:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are essential in order to enable you to move around the website and use its features. Without these cookies basic services cannot be provided.

Cookie generated by applications based on the PHP language. This is a general purpose identifier used to maintain user session variables. It is normally a random generated number, how it is used can be specific to the site, but a good example is maintaining a logged-in status for a user between pages.

Used on sites built with Wordpress. Tests whether or not the browser has cookies enabled
  • wordpress_test_cookie

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x