Trinamool Congress (TMC)

I Will Join BJP: TMC MP Arjun Singh

Trinamool Congress (TMC)

In a major setback to the Trinamool Congress (TMC) before the Lok Sabha elections, MP from Barrackpore constituency, Arjun Singh announced on Thursday that he will join the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Singh did not mention the time and date at which he will join the BJP.

“This is fixed; I will join the BJP. I can join here or in Delhi, anywhere. I will do whatever party gives me work,” he said.

Responding to a question about providing any reason to quit TMC, Arjun Singh said that Injustice has been done to him.

“The public will answer this,” he said.

Notably, TMC has dropped Arjun Singh and fielded Partha Bhowmick from the Barrackpore seat for the Lok Sabha elections.

Arjun Singh joined the BJP in 2019 and defeated the then-TMC candidate on the Barrackpore seat. But in 2022, he returned to TMC again.

Earlier on March 12, Over the speculations of his joining the BJP, Arjun Singh said time will tell whether he will go back to the BJP or not.

When asked to clarify rumours that he is going to leave the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and join BJP again, ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in the country, Singh said, “Politicians are always in touch with a lot of people, be it ruling party or opposition. I have come from that party (BJP) itself. We will see what happens next.”

Meanwhile, TMC on Sunday announced 42 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, fielding expelled Lok Sabha member Mahua Moitra from Krishnanagar.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s nephew, Abhishek Banerjee, announced the TMC candidates at a show of strength in the heart of Kolkata on March 10.

Abhishek Banerjee, will contest from Diamond Harbour. Mahua Moitra, who was expelled from Lok Sabha in the Winter session last year has been given a ticket from Krishnanagar constituency. Meanwhile, Mukut Mani Adhikari who recently quit the Bharatiya Janata Party has also been given a ticket from Ranaghat Lok Sabha seat.

Shatrughan Sinha is set to again contest from Asansol, a seat he had won earlier in 2022 bypoll. TMC has fielded Jagadish C Basuniya from Cooch Behar, Prakash Chik Baraik from Alipurduar, Nirmal Ch Roy from Jalpaiguri, Gopal Lama from Darjeeling. Krishna Kalyani has been fielded from Raiganj whereas Biplab Mitra and Prasun Banerjee will contest from Balurghat and Malda Uttar respectively. (ANI)

For more details visit us:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are essential in order to enable you to move around the website and use its features. Without these cookies basic services cannot be provided.

Cookie generated by applications based on the PHP language. This is a general purpose identifier used to maintain user session variables. It is normally a random generated number, how it is used can be specific to the site, but a good example is maintaining a logged-in status for a user between pages.

Used on sites built with Wordpress. Tests whether or not the browser has cookies enabled
  • wordpress_test_cookie

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x