Amid Pathaan's Success, Modi Hails Theatres Running Houseful In Srinagar

Modi Urges Citizens To Read About Padma Awardees

Amid Pathaan's Success, Modi Hails Theatres Running Houseful In Srinagar

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday urged the citizens of the country to read about the lives and stories of people who have been conferred with the prestigious ‘Padma’ Awards.

PM Modi was addressing the 97th Edition and the first ‘Mann Ki Baat’ radio program of 2023.
Modi underlined that a sizeable number of Padma awardees came from tribal communities and people associated with tribal society.

“Various people from tribal areas – painters, musicians, farmers, artisans – have been conferred the Padma awards. I urge all countrymen to read their inspiring stories. Many dignitaries who have worked on tribal languages like Toto, Ho, Kui, Kuvi, and Manda have received these awards,” PM Modi said during the ‘Mann Ki Baat’ radio program.

“Tribal life is different from city life, it has challenges of its own. Despite all this, tribal societies are always eager to preserve their traditions,” he said.

Modi further added that many great personalities who have worked on tribal languages like Toto, Ho, Kui, Kuvi, and Manda have received Padma Awards.

“It is a matter of pride for all of us and the fact that now the world would know them. People working with Siddi, Jarwa, and Onge tribes have also been awarded this time,” PM Modi pointed out.

“This time among Padma awardees are those people who have expertise in spreading the melody of our traditional musical instruments like Santoor, Bamhum, and Dwitara. Ghulam Mohd Zaz, Moa Su-Pong, Ri-Singhbor Kurka-Long, Muni-Venkatappa, and Mangal Kanti Rai are being discussed all around,” he said.

He also underlined the efforts of the Northeast people who are continuously thriving to preserve their culture and have been awarded the Padma awards.

Padma Awards – the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri.

The Awards are given, every year on Republic Day, in various disciplines and fields of activities such as art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, and civil service.

‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.

Earlier, on December 25, 2022, PM Modi addressed the 96th episode of Mann Ki Baat. In his last Mann Ki Baat of 2022, PM Modi said the country had become the world’s fifth-largest economy in 2022.

“The year 2022 was wonderful, India completed 75 years of Independence while ‘Amrit Kaal’ began. India progressed rapidly and became the world’s fifth-largest economy, and achieved the unbelievable record of 220 crore vaccines and crossed the USD 400 billion mark in exports,” he said. (ANI)

Read more:

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.

Privacy Settings saved!
Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies. Control your personal Cookie Services here.

These cookies are essential in order to enable you to move around the website and use its features. Without these cookies basic services cannot be provided.

Cookie generated by applications based on the PHP language. This is a general purpose identifier used to maintain user session variables. It is normally a random generated number, how it is used can be specific to the site, but a good example is maintaining a logged-in status for a user between pages.

Used on sites built with Wordpress. Tests whether or not the browser has cookies enabled
  • wordpress_test_cookie

In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec

Decline all Services
Accept all Services
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x